Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Dynamic Menus: Kitchen Specific Modifications On Shared Menus

This article covers the following topics:

You can make site-specific modifications to shared menus in the system. This functionality is ideal for multi-site operations with sites utilizing a shared menu but having differences in the number of portions, portion sizes and prices. Menu planning and management can be centralized to the administrator and the basic users can make modifications to the shared menu so that the quantities and prices suit their need.

If you want to use the shared menu as a template but you want to make modifications to the content, you can make a copy of the shared menu to your own kitchen. The menu is then saved as the kitchen's own menu.

 

Administrator

In order to make site specific changes on shared menus, the Dynamic Menus functionality needs to be activated in the Food tab of the BASIC DATA - Settings - Program settings.

 

User ID For The Basic User With The Right To Make Modifications To The Shared Menu

For the basic users to be able to make kitchen-specific modifications to the name, portion sizes, number of portions and prices, and save the menu with these kitchen-specific modifications, you will have to set the appropriate user ID for basic users in BASIC DATA – User IDs function.

Open the User ID by double clicking on the row. Select the Kitchen for the user on the top of the window. You shall not select ’All’ as the kitchen for a basic user. Under the title Recipes and Menus select ’Own menus’.

NOTE! You shall not select Administrator for a basic user.

Save changes by choosing Save on the top of the window.

Adding A New Shared Menu

Add the new shared menu following the instructions in ’Adding a Menu’. Save the menu as a shared menu by selecting ’All’ as the kitchen for the menu on the top of the Menu window.

After this the shared menu will be displayed to all kitchens, and the basic users are able to make modifications to it, if needed.

The original shared menu added by the administrator will stay untouched in the administrator view.

Browsing, Editing And Deleting Kitchen-specifically Modified Menus

Once the first kitchen has saved the shared menu with its kitchen-specific modifications, the administrator will be able to browse the menus kitchen-specifically through the General tab of the Menu. If you want to browse or edit the information of a certain kitchen, select it under the title Kitchen Specific Values. The menu will be updated with the selected kitchen's information.

You can easily monitor which data on the shared menu has been edited kitchen specifically with the Menu Exceptions functionality in the General tab.

If needed, you can delete kitchen-specific modifications by choosing Delete Kitchen Specific Values in the General Tab. All kitchen-specific modifications made by the basic user will be deleted and the shared menu will be displayed to the basic user with the default values saved by the administrator.

 

Administrator / Basic User

Exceptions In The Kitchen-specific Menu Compared To The Shared Menu

You can easily monitor which data on the shared menu has been edited kitchen specifically with the Menu Exceptions functionality in the General tab.

You can filter data in this functionality both in the Master Cycle view and in the Current Cycle view based on changes made on the menu or based on amounts of portions added to the menu. Additionally, you can also search for a specific menu row by name.

If a kitchen specific change has been made on the menu, the system will display an icon communicating the change and the changed values will be displayed with blue color on the row. Icon explanations can be viewed by taking your mouse on top of the icon. The administrator can see all changes of all kitchens that have been made to the shared menu. The basic user of a kitchen can see the changes only by the kitchen in question.

This functionality helps especially the administrator who wants to monitor if the sites have made changes to the shared menu, for example added site-specific amounts of portions. With this functionality also the sites can easily check the changes made to the shared menu or the menu rows that are still lacking the kitchen specific changes.

 

Basic user

Modifying The Shared Menu To Suit The Needs Of The Kitchen
  • Choose FOOD – Menus on the menu bar on the left.
  • Search for the shared menu, to which you want to make modifications.
  • Open the menu by double clicking on it.
  • You can rename the menu.
  • You can modify the number of Portions, Portion Sizes and Prices. To perform this, open the menu row by double clicking on it and give the new values. While the menu row is still open you can move on easily to the next row with the arrow buttons on your keyboard.
  • Finally close the window with the Close button.

TIP! You can easily and at once change the number of portions of all the meal types on the menu by choosing Portions -> Default Portion Amounts on the top of the window and redefining the amount for the All Meal Types row. You can also change the portion amounts according to the meal options.

You can also add ingredients, recipes and servings and hide recipes that have originally been in the menu. See instructions from "Adding a Menu" and "Menu Cycle".

Once you have made all the needed modifications, save the menu by choosing Save on the top of the window.

NOTE! Modifications you have made in the menu will be visible only to your kitchen. The administrator is also able to browse kitchen-specific menus. Modifications will not be visible to other kitchens.

Restoring The Default Values Of The Shared Menu

You can delete the kitchen specific values from the shared menu by selecting the menu in the Menus window and then choosing Delete Kitchen Specific Values in the General tab. The default values of the shared menu will be restored.

NOTE! Shared menu can be deleted only by the administrator.

Copying A Shared Menu

You can copy a shared menu to your own kitchen and then modify all information on it. Copying can be done either in the Menus window with the Copy function or on the menu with the ’Save as’ function.

Using the Copy function on the Menus window

Select the menu you want to copy in the Menus window. Choose Copy on the top of the window. When you are copying a shared menu, the system asks if you want to include kitchen-specific values in the copy. If you choose No, the default values of the shared menu will be included in the copy. After this you need to select the start date for the menu. The copy of the menu will open up and you can make the modifications needed.

Using the ’Save as’ function on the menu

You can copy a shared menu to your own kitchen also with the ’Save as’ function. Open the menu and choose ’Save as’ on the top of the window. Give a name to the menu and choose Save. The system will save a copy of the original menu including default values of the shared menu.